Review: Chanel Le Vernis Rouge Noir Nail Polish

My dad got me this for my birthday a while ago, he doesn’t usually get me beauty products but this is the exact nail colour that Uma Thurman wears in Pulp Fiction (my dad and I are both Tarantino fans), so I thought I’d give it a review.

Untitled2

What the brand says:

Intense colour and high gloss. Designed to be a real nailcare product, it respects the fragile nature of your nails. The original formula ensures rapid drying and lasting hold. LE VERNIS has an original formula, exclusive to CHANEL, composed of special resins. The formula contains bioceramides of natural origin for their hardening action. A precise concentration of solvents gives a hard, resistant, gloss film. Toluene-free formula. Dermatologically tested.

The practical design incorporates an ergonomic top with wide, easy-grip sides, a neck with reducer for flow control, and a non-spill bottle.

As you can see, like with all Chanel products, the packaging is beautiful, as well as the product itself. This is a gorgeously intense shade of deep black-red (as the name suggests), and when applied has a fantastic inky depth.

DSCF1377

As you can see my nail painting skills aren’t exactly professional standard.

The application is smooth and the formula has a perfect consistency, and as Chanel claims, this is definitely fast drying. In the picture above I used two coats which was more than sufficient.

DSCF1852

I find the colour to be very wearable for any occasion really and surprisingly it doesn’t stain your nails, even without a base coat, as many red polishes do.

Unfortunately, without a base/topcoat the longevity of this product is quite poor, but with some help this can last a week! I haven’t used the polish consistently enough to notice any difference in my nails, so I can’t comment on that claim.

In summary I think this is a wonderful product and would definitely recommend it. At £18 it’s a bit expensive, but if you can afford it – get it. You can buy this product at Selfridges.

Thank you for reading and have a great day!

Signature

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • July 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun    
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

